Merbaby

Image

Merbaby aka Merlin aka Merfin, came to us with VERY dry skin. It seems that German Shepherds and mixes with GSD are known to have super alkaline skin…prone to doggy dandruff. I started off by giving Merlin fish oil pills in his food: that worked GREAT! Really helped to clear up the dander/dandruff etc.

Eventually, I ran out of the fish oil pills. I had a GIANT amount of vitamins left over from when I tried to make cat food…that failed by the way. Here’s what I started using instead of the fish oil pills….Solid Gold Sea Meal Image. I sprinkled the recommended amount in his food in the AM and in the PM. After a few days…I still saw a pretty big amount of dandruff.

Next idea came while I was at Trader Joe’s. I LOVE TRADER JOE’S BY THE WAY. I grabbed a bottle of spray olive oil. Image I remembered that my vet said I could saturate a piece of bread with oil and put it in with his food. The spray olive oil is something we can use in our kitchen, not just for Merlin…so it’s a great buy!

What I do now, gets good results….hardly any dandruff: Solid Gold vitamins and olive oil spray. The solid gold sea meal vitamins get sprinkled over Merlin’s dry food (Nutrisorce grain free lamb). Then, I add a bit of water. Last, I spray a coating of olive oil spray on the food mixture.

Merbaby is a happy boy!

I have to write a blog about his shedding issue too! I have made headway in that area, thank god!

Antonia 🙂

About Antonia Blakeney

I live in Rochester NY with my husband, two kids, two cats and a soon to be here dog. I am a stay at home Mom. My daughter Abby will be 3 in a few days and my son Alexander is 6. I have been living in Rochester NY since 2002. Prior to that, I went to SUNY Binghamton...that's where I met my husband! Prior to that, I lived and grew up in NYC. I started in Kindergarten at the Dalton School and then in 7th grade switched to the Nightingale Bamford School. I graduated from NBS in 1998. That is the BRIEF about me story...stay tuned for what I can imagine will be about five million versions of the about me story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

