Desperately Seeking Saltimbocca

Image

The picture above does not do Saltimbocca justice. Alas, I am not in the habit of taking pictures of my food before I eat it…so this canned image from Google will have to do.

I wanted to give a shout out, to two restaurants here in the Rochester NY area: Grandpa Sam’s in Spencerport and TBones Steakhouse in Penfield. I have eaten my recent favorite Saltimbocca dishes there. In fact, the only Veal that I’ve eaten in god knows how long. All hail the great Veal Saltimbocca!!! There is no ground breaking point or purpose to this little blog today…I just wanted to share some more yumminess with you.

Ok. Let’s start out with menu descriptions! Here we have Grandpa Sam’s http://www.grandpasamsitaliankitchen.com  Lightly floured veal, pan seared prosciutto, fresh sage, mushrooms, olives, and spinach all simmered in a buttery, white-wine sauce, smothered in mozzarella cheese and served over capellini.

Here we have TBones http://tbonesny.com/  Sautéed panko-breaded medallions of veal with garlic, prosciutto, kalamata olives, sage and fresh mozzarella cheese, served over house made pappardelle pasta.

Are you drooling yet? You can just nod your head…it’s ok. Saltimbocca in general is a good thing. If I think so, there have to be others out there, right? You bet there are! Check out these websites:

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-saltimbocca.htm 

http://www.theromejournal.org/2010/08/saltimbocca-roman/  

http://countrybred.com/countrybred/flavors-of-lazio-saltimbocca-alla-romana/

Thanks to looking through these websites/articles, I now know that the word ‘saltimbocca’ means to jump in the mouth. Just by that definition, you know you are in for something good. Saltimbocca (pork, chicken and veal alike) originated in Italy. Most likely not in Rome, but in Brescia, northern Italy. The groupies of Saltimbocca are prosciuotto, panceta, sage, olives, saltiness and tangy goodness. Countrybred.com called Saltimbocca alla Romana the king of all Italian Secondi, I am pretty sure that means Saltimbocca dishes are the best of the best in Italian main courses. 🙂

 

 

About Antonia Blakeney

I live in Rochester NY with my husband, two kids, two cats and a soon to be here dog. I am a stay at home Mom. My daughter Abby will be 3 in a few days and my son Alexander is 6. I have been living in Rochester NY since 2002. Prior to that, I went to SUNY Binghamton...that's where I met my husband! Prior to that, I lived and grew up in NYC. I started in Kindergarten at the Dalton School and then in 7th grade switched to the Nightingale Bamford School. I graduated from NBS in 1998. That is the BRIEF about me story...stay tuned for what I can imagine will be about five million versions of the about me story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Desperately Seeking Saltimbocca

  1. Grandpa Sam’s is delicious! It’s my second favorite Italian restaurant after Papa Joe’s on Spencerport Rd

Leave a Reply

